Hello, I'm New!

ariana-rose
ariana-rose Member, Voices_Premium

Hi my name is Ariana Rose and I am an aspiring voice over actress! This has been a dream of mine since a child but I've just recently discovered that I may be able to make it a reality! I have some theater/acting experience and started connecting with other voice over actors to get input and coaching. If any one has any pointers for someone starting out I'd super appreciate it! I currently am using a AT2020 condenser mic, using Audacity to edit, and working in my closet. This is something I want to do seriously at least part time and have been auditioning diligently on Voices for the last month every day (10-15 auditions per day on average). If any one has any pointers for someone starting out I'd super appreciate it!

Comments

• Andrew Zuber
    Andrew Zuber Administrator
    25 Likes 10 Comments First Answer Photogenic

Hi Ariana, thanks so much for joining us on the Community Forum!

I would be happy to point you in the direction of some resources if you'd like, a great place to start is to browse our Talent Help pages and our Youtube channel. They are full of ideas of tips to help you on your journey.

Talent Help: https://www.voices.com/help/talent

Voices YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCS1Z1tKNGwMAa0Cow8fRSVw

• melanie_scroggins
    melanie_scroggins Member, Voices_Premium
    Photogenic Name Dropper First Comment

Hey Ariana,

Congrats on doing the hardest part - putting yourself out there! That truly is the first biggest hurdle. From here, I always advise new talent to do exactly what you're doing - auditioning. It's only through practice that we can really understand where we might fit into the VO landscape.

If you'd like more resources, check out the Work From Home Voice Actor: www.workfromhomevoiceactor.com, where we have all kinds of resources for beginners as well as a weekly podcast you can check out there as well.